If you’ve never had the opportunity to have your friends audition for a show you are working on, I both envy and pity you. Watching your friends recite the monologue they spent forever memorizing is a beautiful thing I feel lucky to get to experience so often. However, there can only be one actor who fits each role perfectly. So, what if that perfect match isn’t your friend?

I am friends with some of the most talented people I have ever met. No lie. But, unfortunately, the casting process is not a forgiving one.

Casting is so much more than who can perform a monologue the best. It depends on factors such as appearance, tonality, promise, stability, amongst a slew of other things. An actor may come into the audition room and make us cry with their acting chops but maybe, in comparison to the other actors cast in the show, this one actor is a tad too short. Theatre is a ruthless business and there is nothing I can do to change that. We just have to accept it for what it is and know that every decision is not personal.

It is always hard being social the night callback or casting emails are sent out. No matter how much you try, you cannot avoid winding up in the same room as your friends. Friends who are ecstatic to continue on this journey with you as well as friends whose journey has come to an abrupt end. What do you do when the inevitable awkwardness ensues? Not talk about it and pretend it’s not there.

I am lucky in the sense that out of all the friends who have auditioned for my projects throughout the years, most of them were understanding in the decision not to cast them. Most of them understand this choice is not personal and they gear up, ready to audition for the next project thrown their way. Now, I didn’t say everyone was understanding. I have had my fair share of awful post-audition scandals.

Story time! I once received a phone call from my friend, way past midnight, after he did not get asked to return for a callback. From the way he was slurring his words, he clearly had a little too much to drink. He wanted to know if my choice was personal, if I was holding something against him or if he just downright sucked. This whole experience was both awful and hilarious all at the same time. Of course, none of this was true! There were just other actors who I saw better fit to be called back for the part he auditioned for. It was nothing personal. It is never anything personal. And if it is, you need to reevaluate why you’re in this business. After about 10 minutes of this ridiculous phone call, he finally seemed satisfied in my answers and ended the conversation. Silly me for thinking this whole situation blew over. Nope! He nonchalantly held it against me the whole semester. But we’re really good friends now so everything is fine. (Even if he does bring it up in casual conversation every once in a while).

To all my friends who have ever auditioned for me: It is always a pleasure to watch you grow from audition to audition. I feel truly blessed to be able to see you open your heart and express your emotions in such a beautiful way. Acting is such a personal experience and to be able to share that with you, especially in audition form, is so special. I work alongside a skilled team who aid in finalizing the choices of the audition process and believe me when I say, we see how talented you are. We see how much potential you hold. You are so wonderful in your own way and I hope you can see that as well.

So never stop auditioning because I know I will never stop loving getting to watch my friends audition for me. It is truly my privilege to be able to listen to you. A privilege, I hope, never expires.